My Thinking on Thursday

and a loafe I might have discovered

this email is really short.

I’ve probably spent 10-12 hours consuming so far this week. Between listening to podcasts, reading newsletters, and scrolling my carefully selected Twitter list, it’s really compounded.

Earlier, on a run, I just had to stop. I physically couldn’t listen anymore. I took the AirPods out and cut off the input.

These kinds of waves happen to me often.

I’ll get sucked into this tide of listening to and reading things I’m genuinely interested in, and do learn from, only to discover that I’m really just on a floatie going further out from the shore. And floaties don’t have anchors.

A moment of clarity (one) came on this run. I just stopped on the sidewalk and wrote in my notes app:

I keep working on the ideas at the top of my mind (writing, striking a balance between good work to do and freedom, having ‘enough’ money) in a way that I’m trying to fix them right now.

Or, at least by the end of the day.

That’s thoroughly impossible.

Time. It takes time.

It’s hard to pause and ‘do nothing’ about them. To not try and think of a way to start x, make money on y, or get my foot in the door at this or that company.

And to think I need to do it right now as if there’s a person on the other end of every idea and thought who’s just like, “Why hasn’t Andrew emailed me his idea or résumé yet?”

Alternatively, I could pause and try and live above that riptide. So I took my AirPods out.

I ran home while listening to my heartbeat and feeling the edges of my ears get red and hot.

I struck a little bit of loafe this afternoon. Now, to ride that wave for as long as I can.

kind regards,

Andrew