Working to Live in the Pixel

on taking a trip, reading things that don't need to be explained, and sports docs

Friends,

I’ve been in Monterey, California for the last few days doing media with the Sea Otter Classic.

It was a blast. It was the longest Sadie and I have been away from both of the kids, especially at the same time, and we got a whole new window into the endurance sports world.

I got some good writing done on the plane, including this Twitter thread on how we get all animalistic when our flight’s delayed.

I also lucked out with one of the best reflections I’ve read in a long time. When I read things like this - and I wish I had a category that made sense, because I self-help feels too watered down - I feel like another layer of life gets peeled back.

Maybe the genre is something like, “No need to explain.”

I’ve only just discovered Tim Urban, and I’m going to be reading a lot of more of his stuff.

I hope you read this. He’s talking about the mindset that I perhaps struggled against the most.

Watching

The Redeem Team on Netflix. I’m a sucker for sports docs. I miss being on a team when I watch stuff like this. When you think about it, these are adults playing games for a living. The only thing real thing that separates them from the kids they once were playing this same game, is something like homeowner’s insurance.

I want this kind of passion in my life.

Something I’m thinking about

I’m starting to notice more often how frequently I’m being marketed to and campaigned for my money and attention.

Marketing is like a proverbial nuclear weapon: We’re all convinced that we need to keep improving the algorithm and spending the money because everybody else is going utilize it.

Mutually assured destruction.

I’ll leave you with that.

Have a great week friends,

Andrew