A Small Excerpt of my Process

From the top:

  • Welcome back, friends.

  • Happy Sunday!

See you out there.

The Rent Comes Due

From John Steinbeck’s novel, Tortilla Flat

Pilon hated waste. “This very thing has been bothering me. Why don’t you rent the other house,” he suggested.

Danny’s feet crashed down on the floor. “Pilon,” he cried. “Why didn’t I think of it?” The idea grew more familiar. “But who will rent it, Pilon?”

“I will rent it,” said Pilon. “I will pay ten dollars a month in rent.”

“Fifteen,” Danny insisted. “It’s a good house. It is worth fifteen.”

Pilon agreed, grumbling. But he would have agreed to much more, for he saw the elevation that came to a man who lived in his own house; and Pilon longed to feel that elevation.

“It is agreed, then,” Danny concluded. “You will rent my house. Oh, I will be a good landlord, Pilon. I will not bother you.”

Pilon, except for his year in the army, had never possessed fifteen dollars in his life. But, he thought, it would be a month before the rent was due, and who could tell what might happen in a month. (emphasis mine)

Another week, another rent due.

I have had a few things percolating in my head this week - specifically at the end of the week - to write about. Including, how I think we all think someone else is caught up in an MLM - or, an ILM (influencer level marketing) - why finding and doing things that are fun, regularly, is such an important hedge, and Minimum Viable Product.

None of them came to any real solidity that I found worth writing about.

Instead, I put off today’s newsletter because of many reasons. Prominently, I went to Denny’s with Sadie and the kids this morning for Father’s Day (sue me, Huddle House). I went on two bike rides. I watched Parks and Rec. for a bit with Sadie. And hung out with the kids this evening and we made chicken nuggets.

So what’s Deep Loafe ‘about’ this week then? I typically think that’s sort of in your court to decide. I try to express, as clear as makes sense to me, what is on my mind. But once those 0s and 1s leave my computer screen, you’re there, wherever there is, to discover its aboutness for yourself. The way it ought to be.

But seriously, today Deep Loafe is about this:

In the excerpt between Danny and Pilon above, I am Danny and I am Pilon.

I make agreements with myself - the multiple angles that my self takes in a given week - that I’ll write and send these loafes.

And then the rent comes due.

And the best we can really do is the best we can really do. Consistently showing up to life among all the notifications and meetings, among the pure ambition to live fully, among the hope to see your beautiful things, and among the rational normalities of the every day - well, that’s the dance, isn’t it?

Having rent due means you’re living. You’ve got pots and pans. A Christmas ham is in the fridge. You’ve got roommates. The porch is there to be sat on.

Goodness, go and pay for it with nickles and dimes and Venmo balances. Whatever it takes. Pay the rent.

Stuff I’ve Been Into

Readies

Reading Rainn Wilson’s new book, Soul Boom. Quite enjoying it!

Watching

Zoinks. Loving the Tour de F(orce)rance documentary. Just might learn French.

Doing

Still writing that Daily Blog of 30 thoughts for 30 days. Today was day 8.

Welp, have a great week. Thanks for reading.

Andrew