The Real Work

a brief thought this week

from a run back in the fall near Mt. Mitchell

I just got home from a few days of retreat and pilgrimage out on the Appalachian Trail with some friends. On top of the gift of just being out in the natural world, exposed and disconnected from the internet, it was a trek towards my inner work to do.

It was necessary. I walked with friends from camp days, ate from what I carried, drank lots of instant coffee, got sunburned in the winter, and did a whole lot of introspection and testing that out in the group around the fire at night.

I hope to reflect in a deeper way later on, but I’ll leave it there for now.

I’m sending this quick Sunday Loafe because I don’t miss a week of sending this fun little newsletter.

I also want to share this poem from Wendell Berry I walked with over the retreat.

The Real Work

by Wendell Berry

It may be that when we no longer know what to do, we have come to our real work

and when we no longer know which way to go, we have begun our real journey.

The mind that is not baffled is not employed.
The impeded stream is the one that sings.

Stuff I’ve Been Into

Music

First track on my Spring ‘23 playlist.

Readies

I’m revisiting this article by Morgan House (author of Psychology of Money). Point number two “Getting the goalpost to stop moving” is something I’m thinking about.

Doing

The radio in our car needs to be reset. This week, I’m going to do that. Tiny wins. I’ll report back next week.

Welp, have a great week. Thanks for reading.

Andrew